Rattlesnake sweeps Africa Magic awards

By Content Nigeria reporter
May 27, 2022


Nollywood movie Rattlesnake – The Ahanna Story was the big winner at the eighth edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCAs), taking home four gongs.

At last weekend’s ceremony in Lagos, Rattlesnake won for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director and Best Cinematographer.

Meanwhile, The Rishantes, from Dimbo Atiya, won Best Africa Magic Original Drama Series. It beat competition from Movement-Japa (Femi Odugbemi), Riona (James Omokwe), Unmarried (Uche Ikejimba), Dilemma (Uche Ikejimba), Venge (Tosin Igho & Rogba Arimoro), Eve (Winifred Nwokedi) and Enakhe (Victor Sanchez Aghahowa).

The Mystic River, from Rogers Ofime, won the Best Television Series award. The other nominees were The Smart Money Woman, Rumour Has It S3, Little Black Book, My Name A-Zed, Butuku and Jenifa’s Diary.

Elsewhere, the Best MultiChoice Talent Factory award was won by Daisy Masembe for her comedy short film Engaito, beating nominees including Bride Untangled (Abisola Aboaba), Nyau- Masuzyo Mwale, Cosmas Ngandwe, Abel Ngoma and Edward Sakala, Rebirth (Brian Ontiri), Oko K3 Akueteh (Christine Boateng and Eric Okyerefo).

Veteran Nigerian actress, journalist and television presenter Taiwo Ajai-Lycett received the industry merit award, while the Trailblazer award was presented to Teni Aladese for outstanding achievement from a young and upcoming act.

The eighth edition of the AMVCAs was organised by Africa Magic in association with pay TV group MultiChoice. The event was hosted by Nigerian TV presenter IK Osakioduwa and South African radio host and presenter Bonang Matheba.

tagged in: